NOC of Ukraine handed out sports “Oscars”
30 March 2013 Share

Today, in capital’s Zhovtnevyi Palace for the seventh time the "Heroes of Sports Year" Ceremony honored outstanding achievements of our Olympians.

"Heroes of Sports Year" is a national sports "Oscar" aimed to determine and reward the best athletes, coaches, teams and experts in all sports. Ceremony's traditional organizers are National Olympic Committee of Ukraine and the Ministry of Youth and Sports of Ukraine.

IOC members Prof. Ung Chang and Mr. Zaiqing Yu came to Kiev to attend the Ceremony at the invitation of the NOC of Ukraine President and IOC Executive Board Member Sergey Bubka. Famous Ukrainian Olympians of different generations, sponsors and other guests of honor visited the celebration.

"Today we have gathered to remember the brightest sports moments of the past year and to honor our winners - Heroes of sports year! We are proud of you, dear Olympians, and today's celebration is in your honor"- NOC of Ukraine President Sergey Bubka welcomed everyone present.

Top state leaders, namely President Viktor Yanukovych and Prime Minister Mykola Azarov sent their greetings to the ceremony participants.

An Olympic champion in Greco-Roman wrestling in Rome-1960 Ivan Bogdan and an attaché of NOC of Ukraine at the Olympics in Atlanta-1996 and Salt Lake City-2002 Laryssa Barabash-Temple were presented with the highest award of the National Olympic movement - NOC Order.

The winner in each of the 12 nominations received prestigious awards and gifts from MTS Ukraine, Bosco and Premier Hotels. The best sportsman, sportswoman and coach received in addition a 50 000 UAH cash prize from NOC of Ukraine.

Like every true Ukrainian celebration "Heroes of Sports Year" Ceremony didn't go without a bright concert.

Winners of the All-Ukrainian Awarding Ceremony "Heroes of Sports Year-2012":

The Best Sportsman of the Year

Vasyl Lomachenko - Olympic Champion in boxing (60 kg)

The Best Sportswoman of the Year

Yana Shemyakina - Olympic Champion in fencing (individual Épée)

Best Coach of the Year

Volodymyr Morozov - senior coach of Ukraine's national rowing team, coach of women's quadruple scull crew - Olympic Champions

Sensation of the Year

Oleksiy Torokhtiy - Olympic Champion in weightlifting (105 kg)

The Best team of the Year

Women's quadruple scull crew (Yana Dementieva, Anastasia Kozhenkova, Nataliya Dovhodko, Kateryna Tarasenko) - Olympic Champions

The Best Sports Organizer

Volodymyr Prodyvus - President of the Ukrainian Boxing Federation (for creating favorable conditions for the preparation and successful performance of Ukraine's national boxing team at the Olympics - 5 Olympic medals)

Strong in Spirit (Paralympic sports)

Nataliya Prolohayeva - 3-times Champion, silver medalist at the Paralympic Games in London in swimming among athletes with lesions of the musculoskeletal system, record holder of World and European Championships and Paralympic Games, became the best athlete of the Ukrainian national team according to the results at the Paralympic Games and the best among women.

Together with Olympians (non-Olympic sports)

Anna Ushenina - World Champion in chess

Olympic Hope of Ukraine

Ukrainian national biathlon women's team (Anastasiya Merkushyna, Yuliya Bryginets, Yuliya Zhuravok) - World Champions in the relay race 3x6 km (youth)

For the Will to Victory

Yuriy Cheban (canoe/kayak) - bronze medalist of the Games of XXIX Olympiad in Beijing in 2008, Olympic Champion of the Games of XXX Olympiad in 2012 in London, medal winner of World Championships

Sports Glory of Ukraine

Olga Bryzgina and Grygoriy Criss

People's Choice

Oleksandr Usyk

Latest in media